Posts
Showing posts with the label Historical Buildings
Old Presbytery
- Get link
- X
- Other Apps
The building at 31 Marsh Street was built about 1877 and was used as presbytery for St Thomas Catholic Church from 1905 after the Convent House was turned into a school. The building was sold and is now “The Fynbos Shoppe and Coffee Shop”. The white part of the building is the Victorian Tea Room and was added in 2005.
Convent House
- Get link
- X
- Other Apps
Convent House was the first building erected for St Thomas Catholic Church. It was built in 1868 and was used as a chapel and presbytery. A lot of changes were made over the years. The building is now used by Magic Kids. The enterance gate with a cross was built in 1887 when Marsh Street was constructed.
10 Church Street
- Get link
- X
- Other Apps
This building was built in 1857 for Meyer & Co. It was used as business premises by import and export traders Fleming & Mudie in 1870 - 1890. It was used by the Mossel Bay Advertiser from 1931-1988. It was restored in 1991 and is now used as the offices for Rauch Gertenbach Attorneys and Boshoff Visser Auditors.